Spending 4 days in Belgium

In my previous post, I shared with you my trip to Paris after 12 years. What I didn’t tell you is that I’m currently living in Paris and that I’m studying law in the University of Paris I Panthéon Sorbonne.Well , this month, it has been the turn of Belgium that I didn’t visit for 12 years too. In fact, the last time I was in Belgium was in August 2004 with my parents to especially visit my aunt who just got married. We spent more than a month there, starting from Wallonia to Flanders.

I don’t really remember all of the cities I got to visit, but Brussels, Louvain La Neuve, Nivelles , Bruges and Dadizele are the ones I keep in my mind.

So after 12 years and around 4 months of  studying , I decided to go back to Belgium which is something I don’t regret as I’m writing an article for the first time away from home.

Beside visiting my family in Louvain La Neuve and in Overijse , I also re visited Brussels where I’ve been with my little cousins and my uncle , visiting the Christmas decoration and lights and of course a waffle that I couldn’t take picture of simply because I was too much enjoying its taste ! Then I revisited Nivelles where I’ve done some huge Christmas shopping and went to the restaurant where I’ve been when I was 6 years old. I’ve ordered a typical Belgian speciality called “BOUCHEE A LA REINE” which is a plate I gladly recommend !

The new city I got to visit is Mons. Situated in the South of Wallonia, Mons has a strong history and a huge mall especially for shopaholics ! You got it right, I sadly didn’t get to visit the whole city because I didn’t have enough time as I only stayed in Belgium during 4 days. I also got to visit the canal of Thieu but I sadly didn’t get to discover its funicular lift because it wasn’t available before April 2017.
I really liked this trip as it had been a very long time which reminded me of all the moments I spent in Belgium in my childhood. The only thing that I actually regret is to go there for only 4 days as it’s not enough at all to enjoy the beauty of this little country that I promised myself to visit more often as it’s not really far from where I live.

Leave a Reply

